Hoosiers Record 12 All-Big Ten Honorees


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Indiana football team matched 2015’s program record with 12 standouts recognized by the Big Ten over Tuesday and Wednesday. After six defenders earned honors Tuesday, six offensive players collected accolades on Wednesday.

Fifth-year senior offensive lineman Dan Feeney received first team honors (coaches and media) for the second consecutive season. Five Hoosiers added honorable mention recognition: fifth-year senior wide receivers Ricky Jones and Mitchell Paige, redshirt junior quarterback Richard Lagow, junior running back Devine Redding and sophomore wide receiver Nick Westbrook.

Junior linebacker Tegray Scales and redshirt junior cornerback Rashard Fant were named second team All-Big Ten on Tuesday and were joined by four honorable mention members: fifth-year senior defensive tackle Ralph Green III (coaches), redshirt junior linebacker Marcus Oliver (coaches and media), sophomore safety Jonathan Crawford (media) and true freshman husky Marcelino Ball (coaches and media).

Additionally, fifth-year senior offensive lineman Jacob Bailey was named Indiana’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

Feeney is the fourth offensive lineman in program history to earn back-to-back first team honors (Don Shrader, 1987-88; Bob Haak, 1937-38; Homer Dutter, 1909-10). The last Hoosier to do so was wide receiver Tandon Doss (2009-10).

An Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award Watch Lister for the second straight season, Feeney was a consensus preseason first team All-American after earning first team honors one year ago. He accepted an invitation to play in the 2016 Senior Bowl.

The Orland Park, Ill., native made his first career starts at right tackle over the final four weeks of the regular season after 41 starts at right guard. In his 45 career games, Feeney has allowed just two sacks (3,278 snaps).

During the offseason, Feeney was recognized as the 37th-best player in country by ESPN, the 10th-best senior by NFL.com and the top guard in the country by Phil Steele, Lindy’s, USA Today and 247Sports. He has 51 knockdowns and one sack allowed in 270 called pass attempts and 559 snaps in 30 quarters this year.

IU is the only Big Ten team with three players in the B1G’s top 12 in receiving yardage and receptions: Westbrook (915-3rd; 49-T-8th), Jones (783-8th; 50-7th) and Paige (604-12th; 54-4th). Westbrook paces the trio with five touchdowns (T-9th) and an 18.7 average per catch (3rd).

Jones sits eighth in the league with 15.7 yards per grab to go along with three scores, while Paige has three receiving TDs, a passing touchdown and a rushing score. Paige also collected honorable mention as a return specialist in 2015.

Lagow sits second in the Big Ten in passing yardage (3,174, 19th nationally), third in completions per game (19.9, 33rd) and yards per completion (13.3, 33rd), fourth in completion percentage (59.9), fifth in TDs (18) and total offense (250.3), and sixth in passing efficiency (133.6).

Redding went over the 1,000-yard rushing mark for the second consecutive season with 1,050 on 236 attempts and six touchdowns. He became the fourth Hoosier (5th time) with back-to-back 1,000-yard seasons and the first since Vaughn Dunbar (1990-91). Courtney Snyder (1974-75) and Anthony Thompson (1987-88, 1988-89) round out the quartet.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply