IBCA Subway Players of the Week

Bishop paces honorees in IBCA Player of the Week program

Minix, Wahl join East Chicago Central standout as winners of weekly awards for Nov. 7-12


Jenasae Bishop averaged 31.0 points over two games last week, and the East Chicago Central junior paces the winners in the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program.

Bishop is joined by North White senior Audrey Minix and Heritage Hills junior Abby Wahl as award recipients for Nov. 7-12 in the recognition program coordinated by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Bishop is the recipient for District 1, Minix for District 2 and Wahl for District 3.

The 5-8 Bishop opened her week by scoring 26 points with four rebounds, four assists and two steals as East Chicago Central knocked off Hobart 57-42. Bishop followed by pouring in 36 points with three rebounds, three assists and seven steals as the Cardinals moved to 3-0 with a 74-41 victory at Lowell. Over two games, Bishop was 24-of-47 from the field, hit two 3-pointers and was 12-of-15 on free throws.

Minix averaged 30.5 points and 14 rebounds in two triumphs for North White (3-0). The 5-10 forward dropped in 38 points with 16 rebounds in a 74-47 victory over Rensselaer Central. Minix also produced 23 points with 12 rebounds and two assists as the Vikings defeated Caston 52-36. Minix was 25-of-37 from the field and 11-of-14 from the line over both games.

The 6-2 Wahl averaged 29.5 points and 10.5 rebounds as Heritage Hills opened its season with a 1-1 week. Wahl scored 24 points with 12 rebounds and three steals as the Patriots defeated Northeast Dubois 38-33. She followed with 35 points, nine rebounds and one steal in a 72-69 overtime setback to South Central (Elizabeth). In two games, Wahl was 21-of-33 from the floor and 17-of-18 on free throws.

This is the ninth season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the fifth season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its sixth season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to “train hard and eat fresh.”

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA’s three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following Feb. 25. Boys winners will be chosen starting in two weeks and through the week following March 25.


Other nominees for Week 2 (2016-17)

            District 1 – Lanie Allen, East Noble; Leigha Brown, DeKalb; Justene Charlesworth, LaCrosse; Jaimie Diedam, South Newton; Courtney Dunlap, Argos; Shelby Fish, Prairie Heights; Dayton Groninger, Warsaw; Morgan Litwiller, Northridge; Karissa McLaughlin, Homestead; Riley Ott, LaPorte; Emily Rowe, Caston; Mya Scheidt, Crown Point; Taylor Steele, Highland; Daly Sullivan, South Bend St. Joseph; Taitlyn Trenshaw, NorthWood; Hailey Vale, Chesterton; Raegan Walther, Kankakee Valley.

            District 2 – Maggie Deboy, Rossville; Katlyn Gilbert, Heritage Christian; Katie Giller, Beech Grove; Abbie Gressley, Eastbrook; Kaitlyn Hall, Frontier; Rikki Harris, North Central; Hailey Holliday, Eastern (Greentown); Danyelle Hutson, Madison-Grant; Madison Layden, Northwestern; Rachel Loobie, Franklin Central; Kaci Mangus, Wapahani; Maddie Nolan, Zionsville; Keya Patton, Cathedral; Zoey Pearson, Bluffton; Xerena Tompkins, Benton Central; Tayler Vauters, Riverton Parke; Macee Williams, Fountain Central; Courtney Wise, Union City.

            District 3 – Jorie Allen, Bedford North Lawrence; Hannah Ashby, Washington Catholic; Amani Brown, Terre Haute South; Abby Cecil, North Daviess; Cassidy Hardin, Center Grove; Alison Hein, Vincennes Lincoln; Maliah Howard-Bass, Columbus North; Brooke James, Princeton; Lexie Knear, South Central (Elizabeth); Hannah Nunn, Henryville; Claire Rauck, Providence; Elexah Roepke, South Ripley; Taylor Streander, Borden; Alli Stumler, Christian Academy; Kayana Traylor, Martinsville.


2016-17 winners

            Oct. 31-Nov. 5 – District 1 girls: Mason VanHouten, Fort Wayne Canterbury. District 2 girls: Madison Wise, Greenfield-Central. District 3 girls: Kayana Traylor, Martinsville.

Nov. 7-12District 1 girls: Jenasae Bishop, East Chicago Central. District 2 girls: Audrey Minix, North White. District 3 girls: Abby Wahl, Heritage Hills.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply