Arella Guirantes Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason Team 

Arella Guirantes Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason Team 

Credit Source: Rutgers University Athletics

The Rutgers star is one of 30 on the national list 

ATLANTA – Redshirt senior guard Arella Guirantes has been named to the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Women’s Midseason Team, it was announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Tuesday.

Guirantes is one of 30 players nationally on the list and one of six from the Big Ten.

Alongside this national honor, Guirantes is also a top candidate for the Wooden Award’s Most Outstanding Player, the Wade Trophy for National Player of the Year, the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year award and a Top 10 nominee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award.

Nine games into the 2020-21 campaign, the Bellport, N.Y. has already claimed an ESPN National Player of the Week honor and two Big Ten Player of the Week accolades, while becoming just the third player in Rutgers history and one of just 11 players across the nation this year to record a triple-double. She ranks in the nation’s Top 30 in points, assists, steals and blocks per game, and is one of just two players in the country to rank in the Top 30 in each of those categories.

She is averaging 21.9 ppg, 6.4 rpg, 5.4 apg, 3.0 spg and 2.2 bpg in 2020-21 with a pair of 30-plus-point performances against then-No. 14 Maryland and Iowa, who was receiving votes in the national polls.

Guirantes was named a Big Ten Coaches Preseason Co-Player of the Year. These honors follow the 2019-20 season in which she was the Big Ten scoring champion and the No. 9 ranked scorer in the nation with 20.6 points per game, an All-America Honorable Mention by the AP, WBCA and USBWA, and unanimously First Team All-Big Ten.

2020-21 Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Aliyah Boston So. F South Carolina SEC
Paige Bueckers Fr. G UConn BIG EAST
Caitlin Clark Fr. G Iowa Big Ten
Charli Collier Jr. F/C Texas Big 12
Zia Cooke So. G South Carolina SEC
Elissa Cunane Jr. C NC State ACC
Rennia Davis Sr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Chelsea Dungee Sr. G Arkansas SEC
Dana Evans Sr. G Louisville ACC
Kysre Gondrezick Sr. G West Virginia Big 12
Arella Guirantes Sr. G Rutgers Big Ten
Anastasia Hayes Jr. G Middle Tennessee C-USA
Naz Hillmon Jr. F Michigan Big Ten
Rhyne Howard Jr. G Kentucky SEC
Rickea Jackson So. F Mississippi St. SEC
Ashley Joens Jr. G/F Iowa State Big 12
Haley Jones So. G Stanford Pac-12
N’dea Jones Sr. F Texas A&M SEC
Dorka Juhász Jr. F Ohio State Big Ten
Natasha Mack Sr. F Oklahoma State Big 12
Aari McDonald Sr. G Arizona Pac-12
Olivia Nelson-Ododa Jr. F UConn BIG EAST
Michaela Onyenwere Sr. F UCLA Pac-12
Charisma Osborne So. G UCLA Pac-12
Ashley Owusu So. G Maryland Big Ten
Lindsey Pulliam Sr. G Northwestern Big Ten
NaLyssa Smith Jr. F Baylor Big 12
Jasmine Walker Sr. F Alabama SEC
Kiana Williams Sr. G Stanford Pac-12
Christyn Williams Jr. G UConn BIG EAST

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply