BiG Individual Football Awards Announced

Big Ten Announces Football Individual Award Winners

Penn State’s Saquon Barkley is offensive player of the year, while Iowa’s Josey Jewell earns defensive player-of-the-year honors


ROSEMONT, Ill — The Big Ten Conference announced the 2017 football individual award winners for offense, defense and special teams on Thursday.


The Big Ten postseason awards are voted on by conference coaches and a select media panel and honors teams, coaches and students with individual awards that each bear the names of one or two former standouts. The Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian and Ford-Kinnick Leadership awards were announced last week.


A complete list of the 2017 Big Ten football awards can be found on the attached PDF.


Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Chad Greenway, Iowa

Named for Minnesota’s Tony Dungy and Indiana’s Anthony Thompson


Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Troy Vincent, Wisconsin

Named for Michigan’s Gerald Ford and Iowa’s Nile Kinnick


Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Named for Northwestern’s Otto Graham and Ohio State’s Eddie George


Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa

Named for Minnesota’s Bronko Nagurski and Michigan’s Charles Woodson


Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

Named for Minnesota’s Darrell Thompson and Indiana’s Antwaan Randle El


Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches vote): Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

Named for Ohio State’s Woody Hayes and Michigan’s Bo Schembechler


Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media vote): Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

Named for Wisconsin’s Dave McClain


Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State

Named for Purdue’s Bob Griese and Drew Brees


Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: DJ Moore, Maryland

Named for Wisconsin’s Pat Richter and Michigan’s Desmond Howard


Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Named for Wisconsin’s Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne


Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin

Named for Penn State’s Ted Kwalick and Iowa’s Dallas Clark


Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Billy Price, Ohio State

Named for Nebraska’s Dave Rimington and Ohio State’s Orlando Pace


Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Nick Bosa, Ohio State

Named for Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown


Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa

Named for Illinois’ Dick Butkus and Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald


Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Josh Jackson, Iowa

Named for Ohio State’s Jack Tatum and Purdue’s Rod Woodson


Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Griffin Oakes, Indiana

Named for Wisconsin’s Jim Bakken and Michigan State’s Morten Andersen


Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Ryan Anderson, Rutgers

Named for Illinois’ Dike Eddleman and Michigan State’s Brandon Fields


Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Named for Nebraska’s Johnny Rodgers and Iowa’s Tim Dwight


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply