Nixon Named Outland Trophy Finalist

Nixon Named Outland Trophy Finalist

Credit Source: University of Iowa Athletics

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior defensive lineman Daviyon Nixon has been named one of three finalists for the 2020 Outland Trophy, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced Tuesday. The Outland Trophy is presented to the nation’s best interior lineman on offense or defense.

Nixon is the only defensive lineman out of the three finalists. In the last 20 years, only seven defensive linemen have won the Outland Trophy. The Outland Trophy winner will be announced Jan. 7, 2021 live on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.

Tristan Wirfs was a semifinalist for the award last season. Four Hawkeyes have won the Outland Trophy in school history: Brandon Scherff (2014), Robert Gallery (2003), Alex Karras (1957), and Cal Jones (1955). Only three programs in the nation have more Outland Trophy recipients than the Hawkeyes.

Nixon, a Kenosha, Wisconsin, native, was named the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year in the Big Ten last week. He leads the Big Ten in tackles for loss (33), tied for the conference lead in sacks (5.5), and has the most tackles by a Big Ten defensive lineman (41).

Nixon has also registered one interception, one PBU, and one forced fumble. Nixon returned his first career interception 71 yards for his first career touchdown in Iowa’s 41-21 win at Penn State.

Nixon has helped lead an Iowa defense that ranks second in the conference and 11th in the nation in total defense, third in the Big Ten and seventh in the nation in scoring defense (16.0), third in the Big Ten and 11th nationally in rush defense (107.6), and fifth in the conference in passing defense (206.1).

Nixon is the only player in the nation to be named a finalist/semifinalist for the Outland Trophy, Bednarik Award, and Nagruski Trophy.

Iowa’s defense has played 22 straight games without surrendering 25 points – the longest streak in the nation among Power 5 teams.

The 15th-ranked University of Iowa football team will face Missouri in the 2020 TransPerfect Music City Bowl on Dec. 30 in Nashville, Tennessee. Kickoff is set for 3 p.m. (CT) from Nissan Stadium and the game will be televised on ESPN.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply