College Foundation, Big Ten Pledge

College Football Playoff Foundation, Big Ten Partner for $50,000 Pledge to Support Educational Initiatives in Indiana

Ten teachers will be recognized at Big Ten Football Championship Game to kick-off activation.

For Immediate Release

Nov. 28, 2016

Contacts:  Ken Luce, College Football Playoff Foundation (214-960-4846) | Jason Yellin, Big Ten (847-696-1010) | Kara Kovert, Indiana Sports Corporation (317-237-5026)

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference and the College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation have announced a partnership to introduce the funding of educational initiatives in the state of Indiana. Through this activation, the CFP Foundation and Big Ten, in conjunction with Extra Yard for Teachers will be recognizing teachers at the 2016 Big Ten Football Championship Game on December 3 in Indianapolis, while providing funds to enhance educational efforts in those teachers’ respective classrooms and schools.


“The College Football Playoff Foundation is pleased to partner with the Big Ten Conference to support educational initiatives in Indiana,” said CFP Foundation Executive Director Britton Banowsky. “We would like to congratulate each of the teachers who will be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game, and thank them for all the encouragement and positive influence they have had on their students.”


The Big Ten worked with the Indiana Sports Corporation to select 10 teachers, with the goal of recognizing 10 different schools in the state of Indiana. Each of the teachers (kindergarten through eighth grade) will be awarded a grant to assist them with educational projects. The 10 teachers will attend and be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game at Lucas Oil Stadium.


“We are proud to partner with the College Football Playoff Foundation on this initiative to recognize teachers from across the state of Indiana in conjunction with the Big Ten Football Championship Game,” Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany said. “This is an exciting opportunity to highlight the importance of education within our communities and the positive impact that teachers have on their students. Congratulations to the winners who will be honored in Indianapolis on Sat., Dec. 3, and to all of the educators who play a role in developing the next generation of college students.”


“Indiana Sports Corp is thrilled to partner with the College Football Playoff Foundation and the Big Ten Conference in order to impact the youth in 10 classrooms across the state of Indiana,” said Indiana Sports Corp President, Ryan Vaughn.  “This aligns perfectly with our mission, which includes providing opportunities for youth, through an event we are proud to host, the Big Ten Football Championship Game.”



The following 10 teachers will be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game:


Teacher School Location
Jonathan Anderson Stonybrook Middle School Indianapolis
Chris Boylan George Washington IPS Indianapolis
Elizabeth Camacho Chapelwood Elementary School Indianapolis
Kortnee Mauck Yorktown Elementary School Yorktown
Craig Brinkman Spring Mill Elementary School Indianapolis
Julie Grissom Eastwood Middle School Indianapolis
Margo Melson Chapel Hill 7th & 8th Grade Center Indianapolis
Patty Evans Clark-Pleasant Middle School Greenwood
Kelsey Buckley Zionsville Middle School Zionsville
Brieann Saxhaug-Toste Riverside Intermediate School Fishers


About the Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,500 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013. For more information, visit


About the College Football Playoff Foundation and Extra Yard for Teachers

The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the charitable arm of the College Football Playoff and supports education and teachers across the country. The CFP Foundation creates multiple partnerships to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes. The Foundation’s primary philanthropic initiative, Extra Yard for Teachers (EYFT), elevates the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering quality teachers through the development and implementation of programs in three key focus areas: direct provision of resources, teacher recognition, and professional development training.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply