IBCA Junior Boys Team Named

Twenty-four players have been selected for the IndyStar Indiana boys Junior All-Stars for 2019.
    There are four groups of six players each — six in the Core Group, six in the Red Group, six in the White Group and six in the Blue Group.
    Players in the Core Group are Trey Galloway of Culver Academy, Jaden Ivey of Mishawaka Marian, Anthony Leal of Bloomington South, Charlie Yoder of Westview and Dre Davis and Nijel Pack of Lawrence Central.
    The Red Group players are Deontae Craig of Culver Military, Johnell Davis of Gary 21st Century, Zak Krueger of Homestead, Jake Wadding of Chesterton and Chris Grubbs and Mabor Majak of Hamilton Southeastern.
    The White Group players are Brayton Bailey of Bedford North Lawrence, Carson Barrett of Lafayette Central Catholic, Tre Coleman of Jeffersonville, Sincere McMahon of Crispus Attucks, Tayson Parker of Northwestern and Tony Perkins of Lawrence North.
    The Blue Group players are Murray Becher of Heritage Hills, Maximus Gizzi of New Palestine, Noah Jager of Bloomington South, Kiyron Powell of Evansville Bosse, Kenny Tracy of Decatur Central and Andrew Welage of Greensburg.
    Mark Detweiler of Delta will be the head coach for the boys Junior All-Stars. Detweiler will be assisted by Ryan Eakins of East Noble and Ryan Osborn of Carmel.
    The Junior All-Stars will play two games against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars, the first tentatively on June 1 at a Kentucky site to be announced and the second on June 3 at Jeffersonville High School. The Junior All-Stars also will play one game against the Indiana All-Star senior boys on June 5. The June 5 game also will be at a site to be announced.
    All three games will be doubleheaders with the 2019 Indiana girls Junior All-Stars, who were chosen and announced in late February.
    The players listed as Core Group players will play in all three games. The players in the Blue Group will play on the June 1 game against Kentucky. The Players in the White Group will play in the June 3 game against Kentucky. The players in the Red Group will play in the June 5 game against the Indiana seniors.
    The Indiana senior All-Stars will play the Kentucky senior All-Stars on June 7 at Bellarmine University’s Knights Hall in Louisville. The Indiana senior All-Stars will play Kentucky’s seniors again on June 8 in Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. Those home-and-home events also will be girls-boys doubleheaders.
    The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 20-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel in conjunction with its selection of the IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Team. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches to nominate players through the IBCA all-state process. Representatives from 16 regional areas from across the state, district representatives from the IHSAA districts (one each from District 1, District 2 and District 3) and the committee chair then meet to review the nominations, vote and finalize the selections.
    The IBCA/Subway boys basketball Senior All-State and Underclass All-State teams for 2019 will be released later this week.
    The 2019 Indiana senior boys All-Star team will be announced in April. Winners of the IndyStar Mr. Basketball and IndyStar Miss Basketball titles for 2019 will be announced on May 5.
    A list of those chosen as 2019 boys Junior All-Stars follows.
2019 IndyStar Boys Junior All-Stars
    Name, Ht., Pos., PPG, High School, College Choice
    Dre Davis, 6-6, G, 16.9, Lawrence Central, Nebraska
    Trey Galloway, 6-5, F, 16.1, Culver Academy, undecided
    Jaden Ivey, 6-3, G, 24.9, Mishawaka Marian, undecided
    Anthony Leal, 6-5, G, 19.9, Bloomington South, undecided
    Nijel Pack, 6-1, G, 16.5, Lawrence Central, undecided
    Charlie Yoder, 6-4, G, 23.7, Westview, undecided
    Name, Ht., Pos., PPG, High School, College Choice
    Deontae Craig, 6-4, F, 12.7, Culver Academy, undecided
    Johnell Davis, 6-4, G, 25.0, Gary 21st Century, undecided
    Chris Grubbs, 6-6, F, 12.8, Hamilton Southeastern, undecided
    Zak Krueger, 5-10, G, 13.2, Homestead, undecided
    Mabor Majak, 7-0, C, 8.4, Hamilton Southeastern, undecided
    Jake Wadding, 6-4, F, 17.5, Chesterton, undecided
    Name, Ht., Pos., PPG, High School, College Choice
    Brayton Bailey, 6-2, G, 19.0, Bedford North Lawrence, undecided
    Carson Barrett, 6-5, G, 14.4, Lafayette Central Catholic, undecided
    Tre Coleman, 6-6, F, 16.0, Jeffersonville, undecided
    Sincere McMahon, 6-1, G, 16.6, Crispus Attucks, undecided
    Tayson Parker, 6-1, G, 23.6, Northwestern, undecided
    Tony Perkins, 6-3, F, 15.0, Lawrence North, undecided
    Name, Ht., Pos., PPG, High School, College Choice
    Murray Becher, 6-4, G, 20.3, Heritage Hills, undecided
    Maximus Gizzi, 6-1, G, 15.8, New Palestine, undecided
    Noah Jager, 5-8, G, 12.9, Bloomington South, undecided
    Kiyron Powell, 6-10, C, 10.3, Evansville Bosse, undecided
    Kenny Tracy, 6-0, G, 15.3, Decatur Central, undecided
    Andrew Welage, 6-7, G, 16.9, Greensburg, undecided
    Head coach: Mark Detweiler, Delta
    Assistant coaches: Ryan Eakins, East Noble; Ryan Osborn, Carmel

    >> TENTATIVE: Saturday, June 1 — Indiana Juniors vs. Kentucky Juniors at Kentucky (site TBA); this date could change to June 2
    >> Monday, June 3 — Indiana Juniors vs. Kentucky Juniors at Jeffersonville High School
    >> Wednesday, June 5 — Indiana Seniors vs. Indiana Juniors (site TBA)
    >> Friday, June 7 — Indiana Seniors vs. Kentucky Seniors (at Knights Hall, Bellarmine University, Louisville)

    >> Saturday, June 8 — Indiana Seniors vs. Kentucky Seniors (at Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis)
   >> Junior Boys — Head coach: Mark Detweiler, Delta. Assistants: Ryan Eakins, East Noble; Ryan Osborn, Carmel.
   >> Junior Girls — Head coach: Kirk Comer, Jay County. Assistants: Danny Brown, Columbus East; Todd Law, Oak Hill.
   >> Senior Boys — Head coach: Criss Beyers, Warren Central. Assistants: Aaron Garrett, Batesville; Dave Milausnic, Lake Central.
   >> Senior Girls — Head coach: Debbie Guckenberger, Brownsburg. Assistants: Mike McBride, Eastern (Pekin); Chris Seibert, Crown Point.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply