Subway/IBCA Players of the Week and all Nominees

Week-3 IBCA/Subway Player of the Week Honors Go to Carrothers, Jacobsen & Chandler

As the boys season begins this week, the girls finished their third week of the 2019-2020 season, and Week-3 saw three players earn the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week award for their district.

Crown Point Sophomore Jessica Carrothers, West Lafayette Harrison Senior Sydney Jacobsen, and Triton Central Senior Maya Chandler have been selected as the winners for Nov. 18-Nov. 23 in the recognition program coordinated by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. Carrothers is the recipient for District-1, Jacobsen is the winner in District-2, and Chandler is the honoree from District-3.

Jessica Carrothers got her week started with a near triple-double last Tuesday, as Crown Point defeated Andrean 77-30. In the win, Carrothers scored a game-high 28 points, plus she added eight rebounds and an impressive 11 steals. The Sophomore guard also found three teammates with assists and managed to block a shot.

Saturday, in a shootout at Merrillville High School, Carrothers helped IBCA #3 Crown Point maintain their perfect 5-0 record with a 55-43 win against Warsaw and a 68-43 victory over Northridge later in the day. Against the Tigers of Warsaw, Carrothers contributed 24 points, four assists, and three steals, then returned that evening to add another 27 points, five rebounds, four assists, and four steals against the Lady Raiders.

West Lafayette Harrison Senior guard Sydney Jacobsen helped lead her Raiders to three wins and a Franciscan Health Hoops Classic Tournament Championship throughout the course of last week, keeping IBCA #13 Harrison undefeated at 4-0. Last Monday, Jacobsen helped Harrison defeat McCutcheon 69-43 by scoring 23 points, grabbing seven rebounds, handing out seven assists, and making six steals in the game.

Thursday evening, the Raiders took on crosstown rival West Lafayette High School, knocking off the Red Devils 63-33. In that game, the 5-9 Senior added 20 points, five rebounds, five assists, and a solid nine steals, while also blocking a shot. The Ashland University signee returned to the court Saturday in the finale against IBCA #14 Benton Central, and she poured in 36 points on 13-19 shooting (4-9 from 3-point range). Jacobsen also posted five rebounds, four assists, and seven thefts, helping the Raiders to a 62-58 Championship Game victory.

In District-3, Senior Maya Chandler helped lead 6-0 and IBCA #11 Triton Central to a pair of victories, both of which were conference wins. The 5-8 point guard went for 22 points, while grabbing nine rebounds, handing out four assists, and collecting six steals in limited time during an 81-27 rout of Monrovia on Wednesday night.

Chandler, a Loyola University Chicago signee, had yet another balanced effort Friday evening in limited minutes, as she added 23 points, six rebounds, three assists, and five steals in an uneven 90-24 win against Indianapolis Lutheran. In the two games, Chandler was 19-31 from the field, and she added to her career point total after passing the 1000-point mark earlier this season.

This is the 12th season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program, and the eighth season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its eighth season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to “train hard and eat fresh”.

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA’s three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the Monday following the IHSAA Girls State Finals. Boys winners will be chosen starting in three weeks and through the Monday following the IHSAA Boys State Finals.

Other Top Nominees for Week-3 (2019-20)

District-1: Nataley Armstrong, Garrett; Courtney Blakely, Hammond Bishop Noll; Trinity Clinton, Penn; Bree Dossen, Heritage; Nevaeh Foster, Mishawaka Marian; Lilliann Frasure, North Judson-San Pierre; Christian Haggard, Gary Bowman; Mila Reynolds, South Bend Washington; Brynn Shoup-Hill, Goshen; Sydney Van Meter, Rensselaer Central.

District-2: Madelyn Bischoff, Roncalli; Kendall Bostic, Northwestern; Kassidy Dishman, Delta; Maddi Fulks, Bethesda Christian; Maddie Lawrence, Winchester; Sydney Parrish, Hamilton Southeastern; Aiyana Ross, Indianapolis Washington; Bayleigh Runner, Hamilton Heights; Taylor Westgate, Oak Hill; Ilani Williams-Harris, Covenant Christian (Indianapolis).

District-3: Kyrstin Bond, South Dearborn; Madison Gray, Union County; Koryn Greiwe, Columbus East; Kenna Hisle, Evansville North; Jenna McFarland, Northeastern; Myah Montgomery, Southridge; Meredith Raley, Gibson Southern; Sheridan Robbins, Orleans; Vanessa Shafford, Linton-Stockton; Brooklyn Stubblefield, Greenwood Community.

2019-20 Weekly Winners

Nov. 4-Nov. 9District-1 girls: Lilliann Frasure, North Judson-San Pierre. District-2 girls: Madison Layden, Northwestern, and Ashlynn Shade, Noblesville. District3 girls: Rebekah Gordon, Heritage Hills.

Nov. 11-Nov. 16: District-1 girls: Erin Coffel, Bremen. District-2 girls: Kendall Bostic, Northwestern. District-3 girls: Natalie Boesing, Our Lady of Providence, and Koryn Greiwe, Columbus East.

Nov. 18-Nov. 23: District-1 girls: Jessica Carrothers, Crown Point. District-2 girls: Sydney Jacobsen, West Lafayette Harrison. District-3 girls: Maya Chandler, Triton Central.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply