Subway/IBCA Players of the Week and all Nominees

Langford a repeat winner in IBCA Player of the Week program

Yoder, Richardson, Krol, Tucker and Blackwell also cited for week of Nov. 27-Dec. 2


New Albany senior Romeo Langford produced a double-double with 47 points and 12 rebounds to headline the recipients in this week’s IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program.

Langford is joined by Westview sophomore Charlie Yoder and Lapel junior Luke Richardson as boys’ winners for the week of Nov. 27-Dec. 2. The girls’ honorees are Chesterton senior Courtney Krol, Frankton senior Sydney Tucker and Bloomington South junior Addisyn Blackwell.

Yoder and Krol are honorees for District 1 in the recognition program coordinated by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. Richardson and Tucker are winners for District 2. Langford and Blackwell are recipients in District 3.

The 6-5 Langford is the first two-time recipient of the 2017-18 after also being honored a week ago. In the most recent week, the New Albany star scored 47 points with 12 rebounds, six assists, three steals and four blocks as the Bulldogs (3-0) defeated Evansville Harrison 96-59. Langford was 16-of-24 from the field, 4-of-9 on 3-pointers and 11-of-13 on free throws.

Yoder tallied 37 points with seven rebounds, three assists and one steal in Westview’s only game of the week, an 86-50 triumph over Churubusco. The 6-4 sophomore guard hit 12-of-21 shots, 3-of-5 3-pointeres and 10-of-11 free throws as the Warriors improved to 3-0.

The 6-5 Richardson averaged 30.0 points and 11.5 rebounds in two victories for Lapel (2-2). He opened his week with 32 points, 11 rebounds and three assists as the Bulldogs posted a 74-48 decision over Pendleton Heights. Richardson followed with 28 points, 12 rebounds and two assists in a 70-46 triumph over Madison-Grant. Over both games, he was 24-of-43 from the field, 6-of-10 on 3-pointers and 6-of-7 on free throws.

Krol averaged 20.5 points and 5.5 rebounds in propelling Chesterton (8-0) to a pair of big victories. First, the 5-11 guard scored 17 points with seven rebounds and four steals as the Trojans knocked off previously undefeated East Chicago Central 58-43. Krol followed by scoring 24 points with four rebounds and three steals in a 55-47 decision over Michigan City.

The 5-8 Tucker averaged 32.5 points in keying Frankton (8-1) to two triumphs. The University of Evansville signee opened with 25 points, three rebounds, five assists and nine steals as the Eagles beat Eastern (Greentown) 71-48. Tucker followed with 40 points, eight rebounds, one assist and three steals in a 77-56 victory over Alexandria. Over both games, Tucker was 27-of-47 shooting, 4-of-13 on 3-pointers and 7-of-8 on free throws.

Blackwell averaged 26.0 points and 7.0 rebounds in lifting Bloomington South to a pair of victories. The 5-4 guard netted 22 points with seven rebounds, three assists and seven steals in a 48-27 decision over Seymour. She followed with 30 points, seven rebounds, three assists and three steals as the Panthers (5-4) defeated Terre Haute North 58-43. Blackwell as 16-of-36 from the field, 9-of-17 from 3-point range and 11-of-11 on free throws for the two games.

This is the 10th season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the sixth season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its seventh season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to “train hard and eat fresh.”

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA’s three districts. Girls’ winners will be chosen from now through the week following Feb. 24. Boys’ winners will be chosen starting in three weeks and through the week following March 24.


Other nominees for Week 5 (2017-18)

            District 1 boys – Cade Albers, Westville; Damezi Anderson, South Bend Riley; Johnny Bernard, Merrillville; Trevor Braden, Morgan Township; Sam Buck, Homestead; Zane Burke, Churubusco; Eian Coad, Knox; Dustin Hudak, Lowell; James Hudson, Andrean; Donta’ Long, Lake Station; Dillan Mathes, Kouts; Justyn McClinton, Hammond Gavit; Brandon Newman, Valparaiso; Lane Reed, Leo; Jordan Reinholt, Rochester; River West, Whitko.

District 1 girls – Lindsey Beard, Eastside; Sahara Bee, Morgan Township; Tia Chambers, Penn; Savannah Feenstra, NorthWood; Lilli Frasure, North Judson; Carissa Garcia, Fort Wayne Concordia; Sydney Graber, Homestead; Mikeba Jones, Fort Wayne South; Jordan Kintigh, Fairfield; Sadie Leatherman, Kouts; Emma Nolan, Marquette Catholic; Darlisha Reed, Hammond Clark; Lydia Reimbold, Fort Wayne Luers; Keegan Sullivan, South Bend St. Joseph; Sydney Van Meter, Rensselaer Central.

            District 2 boys – Gavin Bizeau, Plainfield; Luke Brown, Blackford; Josh Bryan, Delta; Luke Bumbalough, New Castle; Jarron Coleman, Cathedral; Kevin Easley, Lawrence North; Luke Heady, Carmel; Eric Hunter, Tindley; Marell Jordan, Lafayette Jeff; Caleb Middlesworth, Oak Hill; Ty Oldham, Herron; Tayson Parker, Northwestern; Bennie Patterson, Tri-County; Spencer Pettit, Covington; Kellen Schreiber, Roncalli; Tyler Watson, Tri-West.

District 2 girls – Angel Baker, Pike; Kendall Bostic, Northwestern; Cameron Cardenas, Beech Grove; Ella Collier, Danville; Amy Dilk, Carmel; Rikki Harris, North Central; Grace Hunter, Bellmont; Sydney Jacobsen, Harrison (WL); Madison Jones, Western Boone; Kiara Lewis, Lafayette Jeff; Tatum Neal, Clinton Prairie; Maddie Nolan, Zionsville; Alaina Omonode, West Lafayette; Sydney Parrish, Hamilton Southeastern; Zakia Rasheed, Avon.

            District 3 boys – Paxon Bartley, Wood Memorial; Murray Becher, Heritage Hills; Ty Drake, Sullivan; Jon Eineman, Mooresville; Wyatt Felling, Triton Central; Alex Gross, Hauser; Alex Hemenway, Castle; Trayce Jackson-Davis, Center Grove; Tyler Kramer, Southwestern (Hanover); Mekhi Lairy, Evansville Bosse; Hayden Langkabel, Morristown; Cameron Seaton, Evansville North; Trevor Taylor, Edgewood; Jayden Wagoner, Loogootee; Stephan Wilkerson, Princeton.

District 3 girls – Fred Adams, Evansville North; Mackenzie Blazek, Whiteland; Kendra Covele, Crawford County; Mariah Day, Jac-Cen-Del; Adison Denu, Northeast Dubois; Addy Galarno, Columbus East; Lilly Hatton, North Harrison; Katie Kinker, Oldenburg Academy; Maycee Lange, Vincennes Lincoln; Taylor Pepperworth, Terre Haute South; Tenleigh Phelps, Triton Central; Jacqlyn Rice, Paoli; Hailee Robbins, Franklin; Elise Scaggs, Mooresville; Abby Wahl, Heritage Hills; Hannah Wolford, Providence.


2017-18 winners

            Oct. 31-Nov. 4 – District 1 girls: Leigha Brown, DeKalb. District 2 girls: Cassidy Crawford, Tipton; and Madison Layden, Northwestern. District 3 girls: Hya Haywood, Evansville Central.

Nov. 6-11District 1 girls: Karlee Feldman, Bremen. District 2 girls: Tomi Taiwo, Carmel. District 3 girls: Abby Wahl, Heritage Hills.

Nov. 13-18District 1 girls: Emma Nolan, Marquette Catholic. District 2 girls: Trinity Brady, Lawrence North; and Madeline Lawrence, Winchester. District 3 girls: Alison Hein, Vincennes Lincoln.

Nov. 20-25District 1 boys: Damezi Anderson, South Bend Riley. District 1 girls: Keegan Sullivan, South Bend St. Joseph. District 2 boys: Robert Phinisee, McCutcheon; and Garrett Pumphrey, Cambridge City Lincoln. District 2 girls: Mallory Hawkins, South Vermillion. District 3 boys: Romeo Langford, New Albany. District 3 girls: Juliana Kemper, Lawrenceburg.

Nov. 27-Dec. 2District 1 boys: Charlie Yoder, Westview. District 1 girls: Courtney Krol, Chesterton. District 2 boys: Luke Richardson, Lapel. District 2 girls: Sydney Tucker, Frankton. District 3 boys: Romeo Langford, New Albany. District 3 girls: Addisyn Blackwell, Bloomington South.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply