Wisconsin Adds Candidate for Cousy Award

Credit Source: University of Wisconsin Athletics


Trice named candidate for Bob Cousy Award

Senior among 20 in running for nation’s best point guard


Nov. 2, 2020


MADISON, Wis. –  Last season D’Mitrik Trice developed into one of the Big Ten’s top point guards, but now as he enters the 2020-21 season, he has been recognized as one of the nation’s best. On Monday, the senior was named a candidate for the 2021 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award by Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.


Trice is one of 20 watch list candidates, and one of three from the Big Ten, for the nation’s best point guard. The Huber Heights, Ohio native is Wisconsin’s sixth candidate for the Bob Cousy Award and first since Bronson Koenig in 2017. Devin Harris (2004) and Jordan Taylor (2011) went on to be finalists for the prestigious honor.


A Third-Team All-Big Ten honoree last season, Trice rounded out his game averaging 9.8 points, 4.2 assists and 4.0 rebounds per game. Trice ended the year ranked second in the Big Ten with a 2.5 assist-to-turnover ratio (131 assists, 53 TOs). During UW’s eight-game win streak to end the season, Trice averaged 10.4 points (46.2% 3FG) and 5.8 assists per game.


Scoring his 1,000th career point in UW’s Big Ten title-clinching victory last season at Indiana, Trice became the first player in school history to amass 1,000 points, 300 rebounds and 300 assists by his junior season. Trice currently ranks fifth in UW annals with a career 2.07 assist-to-turnover ratio (307 assists, 148 TOs) and ninth for career 3-point field goals (182).


In late January, the Bob Cousy Award watch list of 20 players will be narrowed down to just 10. In late February, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2021 Bob Cousy Award will be presented April 9, 2021.


Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Payton Pritchard, Oregon (2020), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).



Remy Martin – Arizona State

Jared Butler – Baylor

McKinley Wright IV – Colorado

Marcus Zegarowski – Creighton

Jalen Crutcher – Dayton

Scottie Barnes – Florida State

Jalen Suggs – Gonzaga

Ayo Dosunmu – Illinois

Marcus Garrett – Kansas

Javonte Smart – LSU

Cade Cunningham – Oklahoma State

Colbey Ross – Pepperdine

Daron Russell – Rhode Island

Jacob Gilyard – Richmond

Geordano Baker – Rutgers

Bryce Aiken – Seton Hall

Matt Coleman III – Texas

Collin Gillespie – Villanova

Kihei Clark – Virginia

D’Mitrik Trice – Wisconsin


*players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2020-21 season

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply