Four Irish Named Walter Camp All-Americans; Owusu-Koramoah Becomes Unanimous All-American

Four Irish Named Walter Camp All-Americans; Owusu-Koramoah Becomes Unanimous All-American

Credit Source: Notre Dame University Athletics

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — Four Notre Dame Football student-athletes earned nods to the Walter Camp All-America team, the final of the five major selections. Graduate student offensive lineman Liam Eichenberg and senior linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah were named to the first team, and senior offensive lineman Aaron Banks and sophomore safety Kyle Hamilton were selected to the second team.

The first-team selection for Owusu-Koramoah completes a clean sweep of the five major All-America first teams, making him Notre Dame’s 36th unanimous All-American in program history. He is the first Irish player to earn the honor since Quenton Nelson in 2017, and the first Notre Dame defensive player since Manti Te’o in 2012.

The Walter Camp nod represents the fourth first-team nod (of five) in 2020 for Eichenberg. Both he and Banks (two first-team selections) are consensus All-Americans for 2020. The three consensus All-Americans for the Irish bring Notre Dame’s program total to 105.

2020-21 marks the 131st edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All-America team. Originating in 1889 with eleven players, it has since grown to include offensive, defensive and special teams individuals, also adding a second team in 1998.

First Team

Liam Eichenberg

Totaling 38-consecutive starts on his career, Eichenberg has been tabbed as one of the best linemen in the country, being named a finalist for the Outland Trophy and recipient of the ACC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy. He is a consensus All-American, having already been named to the Sporting News, FWAA and AFCA All-America first teams in 2020. He was twice named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week, and was a member of an offensive line unit that was a finalist for the 2020 Joe Moore Award. He was also named first team All-ACC by the conference.

Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah

The 2020 Butkus Award winner and ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Owusu-Koramoah is widely regarded as one of the best defensive players in the nation. Also a finalist for the Bednarik Award and Bowden Trophy, and semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, Owusu-Koramoah was also a finalist for the Nagurski Award and named first-team All-ACC by the conference. The senior has totaled 62 tackles (42 solo), 11.0 TFL, 1.5 sacks, one interception, three PBU, two FR and three FF on the season. Owusu-Koramoah is a unanimous All-American, having been named already to the Associated Press, Sporting News, AFCA and FWAA All-America first teams.

Second Team

Aaron Banks

Banks has racked up 31-career starts and is a consensus All-American for 2020, having been named to the Associated Press and AFCA All-America first teams. He was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week for his performance vs. Clemson (11/7). Selected to the All-ACC First Team, Banks is part of an offensive line that led the ACC and ranks seventh in the FBS in time of possession, controlling the ball for 33:56 minutes of game time and winning the time of possession battle in 11-of-12 games this season. The 33:56 time of possession average leads the ACC by more than two minutes per game.

Kyle Hamilton

An All-ACC First Team selection (chosen by the conference) and Bednarik Award semifinalist, sophomore Kyle Hamilton leads the Irish defense with 63 tackles (51 solo) in 2020, even with only 11 games played. Along with a 14-yard interception vs. Clemson in the ACC Championship, he has posted six PBUs, 4.5 TFL and two QB hits. He was selected to the FWAA All-America First Team and the Associated Press All-America Third Team.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply